Covid-19 Design Innovation Grant Product Design Winner Announcement

Covid-19 Design Innovation Grant Product Design Winner Announcement
International Design Awards (IDA) and European Product Design Awards (ePDA) Announce Winners of COVID-19 Design Innovation Grant

The International Design Awards (IDA), in collaboration with the European Product Design Awards (ePDA), recently issued a call for entries to the Covid-19 Design Innovation Grant, as a way to find and support those who were working to provide innovative solutions to tackle some of the most pressing problems and needs during the Coronavirus Pandemic.

The open call received an overwhelming response, with hundreds of creative designs and ideas submitted from all over the world, showing how talented and visionary designers were turning their skills towards tackling these issues in practical ways.

The Product Design grant call for entries invited product designers to design ventilators or other life-saving equipment that can be affordably produced and distributed. The Final Winner of this $5,000 Grant is David Bassetti – Positive Air Pressure Respirator.

David Bassetti

Positive Air Pressure Respirator (PAPR) was designed with off the shelf parts. PAPRs are effective pieces of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) that could be helpful to caregivers. PAPRs will also be in extremely short supply and you may be able to save many more lives by building a PAPR that protects a caregiver than a ventilator for one patient.

Speaking about the Grant and its purpose, IDA’s founder, Hossein Farmani, commented: “It’s important that design awards like IDA utilize the tremendous resources that we have at our disposal through our network, in encouraging the design community to put their creativity to work for a common human cause.” He continued, “By awarding these grants, we create an atmosphere where designers can be part of the collective solution for a better, safer, more secure life for all mankind, which is why we emphasized the importance of all submitted designs and creations being made available to the public so that these ideas can be reproduced, improved on, and be easily accessible for all.”

IDA’s manager, Hannah Lillethun, also commented, “It has been heart-warming and inspirational to see how many people accepted our challenge and have put much effort and passion into creating these new designs and being willing to share them with us, and the world. This is what we are about — getting the incredibly talented and innovative designers from all disciplines to push boundaries and take steps forward that others can follow towards a better future.”

Below are the other Grant Finalists in the Product Design Category:

Curtis Kline, Thomas Kilmar, Rron Cena, Michal Swoboda, Daniil Frants, Federica Marrella Cecilia Polonara, Daniela Hazel Ruiz López, Genie Anggita, Kirk Wilhelmsen (left to right).

Winners in the other 3 Grant categories can be seen on the IDA Website.

Feel free to use any images in your publication but please credit the photographer.

International Design Awards (IDA) exists to recognize, celebrate, and promote legendary design visionaries and to uncover emerging talent in Architecture, Interior, Product, Graphic, and Fashion Design. IDA aspires to draw attention to the iconoclasm of design worldwide that is conceptualizing and producing great work. Farmani Group assembled IDA in 2007 which has now become one of the leading Design Awards in America, awarding and promoting hundreds of designers each year.

Farmani Group, established in 1985, is the organizer of International Design Awards (IDA), American Architecture Prize (AAP), European Product Design Awards (EPDA), Prix de la Photographie in Paris (PX3), London International Creative Awards (LICC), International Photography Awards (IPA) and the Annual Lucie Awards for Photography, which has emerged as one of the world’s most prestigious photography awards.

For more information, visit:

Media Contact
Company Name: International Design Awards (IDA)
Contact Person: Hannah Lillethun
Email: Send Email
Country: United States