\’ISDR Researcher of the Year\’, NPA’s DESIMGOW Moderator Esteemed for High Institutional Contours

Breaking News – Jan 04, 2016 – Postdoc/US – The first Pakistani female geo-morphologist, and postdoctoral DRR researcher, Professor Dr. Khalida M. Khan has been adored ‘ISDR Researcher of the Year’ at the National Postdoctoral Association (US) by the Inter-regional Directors’ Board of the SAARC-ASEAN Post-doc Academia. 

Dr. Khalida Khan, is a former chair holder of UNESCO with a portfolio comprising of ‘Community Education Mountain Conservation and Watershed Management’.

The extensive canvasser of community education, skill-empowering and equality-based civil rights for the neglected inhabitant populaces of mountains valleys, Khalida 58 has now become an icon within the disciplinary spheres of relevance by receiving the 2016’s first postdoc scholarship for ‘Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) Strategies & New Research Horizons for International Strategy for Disaster Reduction (ISDR)’ at NPA under the UN-KAKHTAH DRR program.   

The environmental sustainability expert from Punjab University Lahore, Khalida Khan is a designated postdoctoral research moderator in ‘Dynamics of Environment Sustainability, Integrated Mountains’ Geomorphology and Ortho-Watersheds (DESIMGOW)’ of SAARC region at the US-based National Postdoctoral Association (NPA).

She has also been awarded International Award Ibaraki Kasumigaura, Japan for the outstanding paper on Lake Conservation in Austin, Texas, USA, 2011. She has been awarded “Gold Medal in Exceptional services for Education”. She was awarded Quaid-e-Azam Gold Medal Award for outstanding performance in education, 2013 by the Civil Society organization. She has made prized contributions to the National Strategy for Pakistan Water Sector Environmental Management Program, National Volunteer Movement Relief Work for the Rehabilitation of Earthquake affected areas in 2005.

PU vice chancellor Dr. Mujahid Kamran congratulates PU faculty on the achievement.

High profile academics of across the region including Justice (R) Dr. S. S. Paru L.L.D.(Indonesia), Dr. Faiser N.M.(Sri Lanka), Dr. Madhulika (Malaysia), Dr. Mehar Master Moos(India), Dr. Martin Haigh (Oxford), Dr. Andrew Taber (Washington), Dr. Takahi  (Japan), Dr. Wickrema Weerasooriya, Dr. Salawal Salah(Sri Lanka), Professor Emeritus Dr. Zaki, Dr. Bareera N.B. and Dr. Azam Sheikh pay their  gratitude to Pak academia on the magnanimous triumph.

She has contributed to the first Post-Disaster’s Epidemiological Susceptibility & Pandemic Outbreak (Post-DESPO) Assessment Appraisal that marked highest cross-referential impact factor (CRIF) on DRR perspectives of the United Nation’s Hyogo Framework of Action, 2014-2015 and distinctive annotation-notes on the “UN MDGs and Post 2015 Extension- scenario”. 

Dr. Khalida M. Khan is responsible for initiating the first “UN Partnership for Satoyama Initiative (IPSI), Japan” at CIMR under the umbrella of Punjab University, Lahore, Pakistan 2012.

Under the directorship of Dr. Khan, CIMR is also credited for establishing the first UN-KAKHTAH Digital Repository at PU.

Dr. Khalida M. Khan, is currently serving as director of CIMR at PU. She has been serving Punjab University since 1-12-1987 to date.

She is a research moderator of National Postdoc. Association (NPA-USA) under the umbrella of SAARC-ASEAN Postdoc Academia and SAIRI Postdoc Multiversity for the United Nations MDGs Studies at NPA.

Dr. Khalida M. Khan is member of various national and international organizations such as the World Association of Soil and Water Conservation, Geographical Societies, ASIAN WATMANET, Kathmandu, Association of American Geographers, 2014, American Association of Geophysical Union, 2014, SAIRI Research Initiative and member of the Board of Trustees of the HEAD Foundation, (Kohistan and Gilgit Baltistan Community Foundation) 2013.

Source: ContentCo-GNN






Media Contact
Company Name: SAARC Post-doc Academia
Contact Person: Dr. Alex Jayawerdane
Email: saarc-sec@asia.com
Phone: +94775993698
City: Colombo
State: LK
Country: Sri Lanka
Website: http://unesco-isdr-asia.org/news/isdr-researcher-of-the-year/