Nepal’s ICIMOD Congratulates Pakistan’s Dr. Khalida M. Khan for being Titled as ISDR Researcher of the Year and DESIMGOW-DRR Moderator at NPA

The International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development (ICIMOD), graciously congratulates Pakistani geo-morphologist, and postdoctoral DRR researcher Professor Dr. Khalida M. Khan, who has been titled ‘ISDR Researcher of the Year’ at the National Postdoctoral Association (US) by the Inter-regional Directors’ Board of the SAARC-ASEAN Post-doc Academia.

ICIMOD is a regional intergovernmental learning and knowledge sharing centre serving the eight regional member countries of the Hindu Kush Himalayas – Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, India, Myanmar, Nepal, and Pakistan.

The Director General of ICIMOD, Dr David James Molden has sent his warm congratulations on the on this benevolent victory of Pakistani academia. Dr Molden is a development specialist with more than 30 years of experience in designing, planning, executing, and monitoring programmes on water management, livelihoods, environment, and ecosystem services. Molden also worked as the Deputy Director General for Research at the International Water Management Institute (IWMI) based in Sri Lanka.

Khalida M. Khan 58 is an extensive canvasser of community education, skill-empowering and equality-based civil rights for the neglected inhabitant populaces of mountains valleys.

Dr. K.M. Khan has now become an icon within the disciplinary spheres of relevance by receiving the 2016’s first postdoc scholarship for ‘DRR Strategies & New Research Horizons for ISDR in the United Nations SDGs Perspectives’ at NPA (US) under the UN-KAKHTAH DRR program.

High profile academics of cross-regional institutions including Justice (R) Dr. S. S. Paru L.L.D. (Indonesia), Dr. Faiser N.M. (Sri Lanka), Dr. Madhulika (Malaysia), Dr. Martin Haigh (Oxford), Dr. Andrew Taber (Washington), Dr. Takahi  (Japan), Prf. Dr. Meher Master Moos(India), Dr. Wickrema Weerasooriya, Dr. M.S. Salawal Salah (Sri Lanka), Professor Emeritus Dr. Zaki, Dr. F.M. Bhatti, Dr. Bareera N.B. and Dr. Azam Sheikh pay their  gratitude to Pak academia on the magnanimous triumph and wish for success in future to further the DRR goals in Pakistan and abroad.

Dr. Khalida Khan, is a former chair holder of UNESCO with a portfolio comprising of ‘Community Education Mountain Conservation and Watershed Management’.

She has contributed to the first Post-Disaster’s Epidemiological Susceptibility & Pandemic Outbreak (Post-DESPO) Assessment Appraisal that marked highest cross-referential impact factor (CRIF) on DRR perspectives of the United Nation’s Hyogo Framework of Action, 2014-2015 and distinctive annotation-notes on the “UN MDGs and Post 2015 Extension- scenario”.

Under the directionship of Dr. Khan, CIMR is also credited for establishing the first UN-KAKHTAH Digital Repository at PU. The repository is named after Kofi Annan, Helen Keller Intl., Tzu-chi Foundation and Aurangzeb Hafi, for their meritorious contributions during the Asian Tsunami of 2004.

For More Details:

Dr. Khalida M. Khan is responsible for initiating the first “UN Partnership for Satoyama Initiative (IPSI), Japan” at CIMR under the umbrella of Punjab University, Lahore, Pakistan 2012.

Dr. Khalida M. Khan, is currently serving as director of CIMR at PU. She has been serving Punjab University since 1-12-1987 to date.

She is a research moderator of National Postdoc. Association (NPA-USA) under the umbrella of SAARC-ASEAN Postdoc Academia and SAIRI Postdoc Multiversity for the United Nations MDGs Studies at NPA.

She has participated in international expedition/Field Work, Swiss Alps, Top of the Europe, Youngfrauyouh, Grindalwald Glacier, Switzerland, Field Research above Arctic Circle, Satellitebild Kiruna, Sweden,  the Fairy Meadows (3300m Himalayan Mountain Range).

She is member of various national and international organizations such as the World Association of Soil and Water Conservation, Geographical Societies, ASIAN WATMANET, Kathmandu, Association of American Geographers, 2014, American Association of Geophysical Union, 2014, SAIRI Research Initiative and member of the Board of Trustees of the HEAD Foundation, (Kohistan and Gilgit Baltistan Community Foundation) 2013.

PU vice chancellor Dr. Mujahid Kamran congratulates PU faculty on the achievement.

Further Reading:

Media Contact
Company Name: SAARC Post-doc Academia
Contact Person: Dr. Alex Jayawerdane
Phone: +94775993698
City: Colombo
State: LK
Country: Sri Lanka