CALIFORNIA – 29 Jun, 2017 – California Governor Jerry Brown signed Senate Bill 1046 on September 28, 2016. The bill requires most convicted drunken drivers to install an ignition interlock device. The device will prevent them from driving while intoxicated.
An ignition interlock is a device that measures the alcohol in your breath and allows you to start your vehicle if it is below the set point. The device also requires periodic retests while the vehicle is running. The interlock records a number of items including test results, engine starts and vehicle run times. Any violations, for example failed tests or missed retests, are recorded by the device.
Skyfine USA Interlock is a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) company devoted to protecting the lives of our clients as well as others sharing the roads. By providing advanced technological devices and superior customer service, we will strive to become the most preferred interlock company by DUI offenders, courts, attorneys, and the judicial system.National toll Free 888-886-5016
The devices cost about $70 to $150 to install and around $60 to $80 per month. A DMV report found that an Ignition Interlock Devices – IID is 74 percent more effective at stopping drunken driving versus license suspension. SkyFine USA is the manufacturer of several Breathalyzers and ignition interlock devices. SkyFine USA’s Motto is: “To Save and Change Lives Through Technology to Prevent Drunk Driving”. SkyFine USA supports MADD and donate a portion of the proceeds to non profits and families that have have had been affected by driving while intoxicated.
There are two types of suspensions in California. An administrative suspension is from the DMV and is confiscated immediately if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08 percent or more or .01 percent if you are under 21 or refuse a chemical test. A criminal court can also suspend your license when you are sentenced after a trial or plea agreement.
When your license has been confiscated, you are given a temporary 30-day license to allow you to get your affairs in order before your trial. Your suspension begins when the temporary license expires. There are several steps you will need to take in order to have your license reinstated.
You will want to enroll in a DUI program as soon as you learn your license will be suspended. Ask the instructor to fill out a Proof of Enrollment Form DL-107 to be filed with the California DMV. You should then apply for reinstatement on DMV Form 44. Prove your financial responsibility by obtaining an SR-22 certifying that you are maintaining liability coverage on your car. Pay all your court costs and fines. Next, you will need to have an ignition interlock device installed. Bring the installation certificate to the DMV. At that time you will be issued a restricted license. Make sure you follow up with regular monitoring to ensure you are keeping up with the program and to keep your restricted license.
Judge Mandated Ignition Interlock Devices in California
A judge can order you to install an ignition interlock device for any DUI-related offense. This means installation of the device can be required if you are found driving under the influence, driving with a blood alcohol content level of .08 percent or higher, getting a DUI causing injury or for suspended license violations.
If a judge feels it is appropriate, he or she may require you to have an IID installed for up to three years. Typically, this happens if your BAC is .15 percent or greater or you refuse to submit to a chemical blood or breath test.
First-time DUI offenders will be required to install an ignition interlock device for five months. However, if it is a DUI offense with injury, the ignition interlock device will be installed for one year. A second DUI offense will require you to install the ignition interlock device for one year. Installation will be required for two years for a third DUI offense and three years for a fourth offense. Any repeat offenses causing injury will net you an additional year of required installation for each offense level.
License Suspension from Drunk Driving in California
If your license suspension or revocation is DUI-related a judge may require you to install an ignition interlock device from one to three years. If you are a repeat offender and wish to obtain a restricted license which allows you to drive to work and school or a court-ordered alcohol program, the DMV will require you to install an ignition interlock device.
A DUI, whether it’s your first offense or you are a repeat offender, will be expensive and inconvenient. However, by working with the courts and following the necessary steps, you can once again have the privilege of getting your license back.
Once you are granted the privilege of once again being a licensed driver without restrictions, you must strive to maintain a good standing and refrain from committing further offenses. Each time you face a conviction, the penalties are stiffer each time. Avoid the expense and inconvenience by striving to be a conscientious driver and obey the laws, and most importantly, avoid driving while under the influence.
SkyFine USA carries is a manufacturer of ignition interlock devices and breathalyzers providing services in California and throughout the USA. If you are looking for an ignition interlock device in California give us a call toll free 888-260-3368. national toll Free 888-886-5016 SkyFine USA supports MADD and donate a portion of the proceeds to non profits and families that have have had been affected by driving while intoxicated.
Company Name: SkyFine USA
Contact Person: Press Release Team
Country: United States